Brewer John Holding bought Anfield Stadium in 1891, but the Everton team playing there moved to another stadium, Goodison Park. With an empty stadium and only three players, Holding created Liverpool Football Club. It happened on 15 March 1892. Liverpool’s first ever match in the Lancashire League, where the team, mainly made up of Scottish players, defeated their rivals from Heyer Walton with a score of 8:0. It was on 23 September 1892. In the First Division, the new team broke through as early as 1894, and the first gold medal was won in 1901, securing success five years later.

Team History

In the 1920s, Liverpool were twice the best team in England, but then came a long period of non-existence: it was not until 1947 that Merseyside won any trophies. And in 1954 the Reds were relegated from the elite of English football.

Bill Shankly’s appointment as manager in 1959 was the starting point of a golden era for Liverpool. In 1962 he returned the club to the top flight, from which the Scousers never left, and in 1964 the team were crowned champions. In 1966, Liverpool won the English title again, and between the two titles, for the first time in history, the team won the FA Cup. A year after the first UEFA Cup win, Shankly left the team and his place was taken by assistant Bob Paisley.

In two seasons, the Reds have won the league title and the UEFA Cup again. In nine years under Paisley, Liverpool won 21 trophies, including three Champions Cups, six league titles, the UEFA Cup and three League Cups. In 1983 Joe Fagan became the new manager, winning the Champions Cup, domestic championship and League Cup in his first season. Liverpool again reached the 1985 UEFA Champions Cup final, facing Juventus at the Eisel Stadium, but history remembers a more gruesome tragedy, with 39 people killed in a stampede. The British were found guilty and their participation in European competitions was ruled out for the next five years.

Fagan was replaced, against tradition, not by his assistant Ronnie Morgan, but by Kenny Dalglish, who became acting manager. Under him, Liverpool immediately achieved the golden double (winning the FA Championship and the FA Cup at the same time), something that had never been possible before. But even Dalglish’s reign was overshadowed by a terrible tragedy. On 15 April 1989, 96 Liverpool fans were crushed to death at Hillsborough Stadium. Dalglish retired in 1991, after which the Scousers never won the English league title again.

Since the creation of the Premier League in 1992, Liverpool have never come top of the Foggy Albion. However, they have won trophies from time to time, such as the Champions League, the UEFA Cup, the FA Cup and the English League Cup.

Undoubtedly, the Reds’ most brilliant year was 2001, when the team won the treble of cups, winning both domestic cups plus the UEFA Cup. The Merseyside outfit remained England’s most successful club until 2011, when Manchester United took the title from Liverpool.

Under Spanish specialist Rafael Benítez, Liverpool have been a formidable force in the Champions League every year. The Reds have reached the final twice, both times against AC Milan, but each time they celebrate victory. The first match success over the Italian club is considered by many to be one of the greatest finals matches in history. Liverpool then lost by three goals, but managed to win on penalties. The greatest achievement in the Premier League under Benítez is second place in the 2008/09 season. However, after a disappointing run of appearances, the Spaniard left for Inter Milan and Roy Hodgson took his place.

Hodgson did not fare well at Anfield and left after six months. He was succeeded by club legend Kenny Dalglish. Under his stewardship, Liverpool won their first trophy in six years, winning the English League Cup.

In 2012, Brendan Rodgers, who excelled as Swansea manager, took over as Liverpool manager. Liverpool finished seventh in his first season, but the management remained confident in the young specialist, who turned the Reds into gold medal contenders a year later. “Liverpool fought to win the Premier League for the first time in many years, but lost at the finish line to Manchester City. That season, the Merseysiders scored 101 goals, their highest tally since the 1895/96 season.

Principales logros

Campeón de Inglaterra (18): 1900/01, 1905/06, 1921/22, 1922/23, 1946/47, 1963/64, 1965/66, 1972/73, 1975/76, 1976/77, 1978/79, 1979/80, 1981/82, 1982/83, 1983/84, 1985/86, 1987/88, 1989/90
Medalla de plata del Campeonato de Inglaterra (13): 1898/99, 1909/10, 1968/69, 1973/74, 1974/75, 1977/78, 1984/85, 1986/87, 1988/89, 1990/91, 2001/02, 2008/09, 2013/14.
Ganador de la FA Cup (7): 2006, 2001, 1992, 1989, 1986, 1974, 1965.
Ganador de la Copa de la Liga inglesa (8): 2012, 2003, 2001, 1995, 1984, 1983, 1982, 1981.
Ganador de la Supercopa de Inglaterra (15): 1964, 1965, 1966, 1974, 1976, 1977, 1979, 1980, 1982, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1990*, 2001, 2006.
Ganador de la Liga de Campeones (5): 1977, 1978, 1981, 1984, 2005.
Ganadores de la Copa de la UEFA (3): 1973, 1976, 2001
Ganadores de la Supercopa de Europa (3): 1977, 2001, 2005

You may also like:

Author: admin